10 | Vermont Association of Snow Travelers Vermont DMV State Registration All snowmobiles, not legally registered in another state or province must be registered in Vermont. If you are already registered in your home state or province, you do not need to re-register in Vermont, but you must join a local club and purchase a VAST TMA (see below). Registration costs are $28 for a Vermont Resident and $36 for a Non-Vermont Resident. Price subject to change without notice. Registration can be done through Vermont State Registration Agents and DMV offices. VAST TMA & Club Membership You must join a VAST snowmobile club in the area of the state in which you intend to ride and purchase a TMA (trail pass) through your club. Go to www.vtvast.org to find a club to join and for online or in-person TMA purchase information. Insurance Requirements All individuals operating a snowmobile in Vermont on the statewide snowmobile trails system shall have a liability insurance policy or bond in the amounts of at least $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $10,000 for damages to property in any one accident. Persons caught operating a snowmobile without the required liability coverage are subject to large fines. Certified Safety Course Vermont State Law requires anyone born after July 1, 1983, and who is 12 years of age and older, to complete and pass a six-hour safety course and must carry that certification with them to be presented upon demand of a law enforcement officer. VAST will honor safety certification from other states. Safety classes are sponsored by local snowmobile clubs and taught by club volunteers, and are usually held in the fall and early winter. An online course is also available. Age Requirements for Operating a Snowmobile in Vermont: Ages 12 or older born after July, 1, 1983 WHATDOINEEDTOSNOWMOBILEINVERMONT? • The operator must take and pass an approved snowmobile safety course • The safety certificate must be carried when operating a snowmobile and presented on demand by an enforcement officer. Ages 13 to 15† • The operator may operate on the SSTS and may cross a public road or highway. • While traveling across or on a plowed public highway individual must be directly supervised by an adult, at least 18 years of age. Age 12 • The operator may operate on the SSTS and may cross a public road or highway. • The operator must be under direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older at all times. Ages 8 to to 12 Eight years of age, but not yet 12 • The operator is exempt from taking a safety course. • May operate a snowmobile on the VAST trail system without taking the safety course as long as they are under the direct supervision of a parent or legal guardian who accepts full liability for the child’s actions. • The child is not allowed to operate a snowmobile on or across a plowed public right-of-way. Ages 0 to 8 - Children under the age of eight • May not operate a snowmobile on the VAST trail system at any time. *8 – 11 year olds may attend a snowmobile safety course but will not be tested or receive certification unless they will be 12 years old on or before the last day of the snowmobile season (April 15). † “Certified Operators” 16 years of age and older may operate without supervision. Vermont Association of Snow Travelers, Inc. | 26 Vast Lane Barre, Vermont 05641 802-229-0005 | info@vtvast.org | Buy TMAs online! WWW.VTVAST.ORG Requirements To Ride